My Trip to Puebla/Cholula, Mexico

Hey guys, so today I am going to write about my recent trip to the city of Puebla, Mexico.

Me and my boyfriend did some road tripping to the city of Puebla, which is very close to Mexico City. My first impression of Puebla was like if it was one of those beautiful Mexican magic towns… you know, the big plaza full of trees in front of the huge impressive grey cathedral and colonial buildings all around, plus after walking further away from that, I found the brightly colorful old houses lined along the narrow stoned streets. But well, that was just its Downtown.

 Puebla27_Fotor

Puebla29_Fotor

As it happens, Puebla ended up being much more than the typical colonial Mexican landscape. It is a relatively big booming industrial city. It is funny how the modern part of it reminded me of Fort Lauderdale (United States) – yes, despite the fact that Puebla is 18,410ft above sea level. We went to see the cool ¨Star of Puebla¨, the largest observatory wheel in Latin America, it was very nice… you can see the whole city from it, so if you happen to be in Puebla, you have to go pay a visit to the Star.

 Puebla10_Fotor

Puebla4_Fotor.jpg

And then on the way to Cholula the landscape reminded me of Boston (United States)… so it was interesting to see so much contrast in one same place.

Talking about Cholula, we couldn’t go to Puebla and not go to Cholula, at least to the famous Pyramid of Cholula. Did you guys know that Cholula is the oldest living town in the whole American continent? Well, it is! How cool is that? Besides, the pyramid is also the biggest in the world, not the tallest, but the biggest. If you pay a visit, you may want to go in through the narrow tunnels, which are a bit claustrophobic, but worth the experience 🙂

 Puebla1_Fotor.jpg

On the top of the pyramid, there is a church that people can visit. And can also take a 360 degrees look at the cities of Puebla and Cholula.

Puebla2_Fotor.jpg

As for the hotel… Before booking one, I looked up on the Internet for reviews and photos of Casareyna Hotel and I have to say I doubted since the photos did not seemed so appealing but I booked it anyway, and I am so glad I did!

Puebla9_Fotor

Puebla19_Fotor.jpg

What a beautiful boutique hotel. The building is well kept, spacious, bright, and looks modern despite its colonial architecture. The rooms are very comfortable and have a cute decoration.

Puebla13_Fotor

Puebla22_Fotor

Also, the most recommended restaurant in the city is Casareyna´s restaurant, which is supposed to offer the best traditional ¨mole poblano¨ in the city. I am not a fan of spicy food, but I definitely had to try it, and so I did… I liked it and I enjoyed it.

Puebla34_Fotor.jpg

So that was it, we stayed for two days and I really enjoyed it, but if needed, I really think a day of tourism would do.

White Shirt: Mango / Jeans: Lucky Brand / Denim Shirt: Massimo Dutti / Shorts: Lucky Brand / Tennis: Keds Ft. Kate Spade

Leave a Reply

